Skip to main content

Recent News

Aydogan Ozcan Wins Prestigious Optical Engineering Prize! 

Featured Articles

Floquet metamaterials

New Content ItemRecent progress in nanophotonics and material science has inspired a strong interest in optically-induced material dynamics, opening new research directions in the distinct felds of Floquet matter and time metamaterials. Floquet phenomena are historically rooted in the condensed matter community, as they exploit periodic temporal drives to unveil novel phases of matter, unavailable in systems at equilibrium. In parallel, the feld of metamaterials has been offering a platform for exotic wave phenomena based on tailored materials at the nanoscale, recently enhanced by incorporating time variations and switching as new degrees of freedom. In this Perspective, we connect these research areas and describe the exciting opportunities emerging from their synergy, hinging on giant wave-matter interactions enabled by metamaterials and on the exotic wave dynamics enabled by Floquet and parametric phenomena. We envision Floquet metamaterials in which nontrivial modulation dynamics, and their interplay with tailored material dispersion and nontrivial material properties such as anisotropy, non-Hermiticity and nonreciprocity, introduce a plethora of novel opportunities for wave manipulation and control.

Intelligent metasurfaces: control, communication and computing

New Content ItemControlling electromagnetic waves and information simultaneously by information metasurfaces is of central importance in modern society. Intelligent metasurfaces are smart platforms to manipulate the wave–information–matter interactions without manual intervention by synergizing engineered ultrathin structures with active devices and algorithms, which evolve from the passive composite materials for tailoring wave–matter interactions that cannot be achieved in nature. Here, we review the recent progress of intelligent metasurfaces in wave–information–matter controls by providing the historical background and underlying physical mechanisms. Then we explore the application of intelligent metasurfaces in developing novel wireless communication architectures, with particular emphasis on metasurface-modulated backscatter wireless communications. We also explore the wave-based computing by using the intelligent metasurfaces, focusing on the emerging research direction in intelligent sensing. Finally, we comment on the challenges and highlight the potential routes for the further developments of the intelligent metasurfaces for controls, communications and computing.

  1. Authors: Shixiong Yin, Emanuele Galiffi and Andrea Alù

  1. Authors: Shixiong Yin, Emanuele Galiffi and Andrea Alù

Aims and scope

eLight aims to attract the finest manuscripts, broadly covering all sub-fields of optics, photonics and electromagnetics. In particular, we focus on those emerging topics and cross-disciplinary researches related to optics.

Call for Papers

Women in Nano Optics 
Submission deadline: August 31, 2022
Guest Editors:
Baohua Jia, Swinburne University
Laura Na Liu, University of Stuttgart

Editors' Quotes

From EiC Prof. Aydogan Ozcan

"We look forward to working with optics and photonics community to make eLight among the first choices to publish the highest quality research results from all around the world, broadly covering all the exciting research and advances in light science and engineering."

From EiC Prof. Cheng-Wei Qiu

"For those who love the science of light, photonics, and optical materials, we wish to make eLight among the first few journal names flashing in your mind when you are about to submit your excellent and proud works. Let us grow and glow together, and with your paramount support, we could make it happen. "

Editor-in-Chief: Dr. Aydogan Ozcan

Aydogan OzcanDr. Aydogan Ozcan is the Chancellor’s Professor and the Volgenau Chair for Engineering Innovation at UCLA and an HHMI Professor with the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, leading the Bio- and Nano-Photonics Laboratory at UCLA School of Engineering and is also the Associate Director of the California NanoSystems Institute. Dr. Ozcan is elected Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI) and holds >45 issued/granted patents and >20 pending patent applications and is also the author of one book and the co-author of >700 peer-reviewed publications in major scientific journals and conferences. Dr. Ozcan is the founder and a member of the Board of Directors of Lucendi Inc., Hana Diagnostics, Pictor Labs, as well as Holomic/Cellmic LLC, which was named a Technology Pioneer by The World Economic Forum in 2015. Dr. Ozcan is also a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the International Photonics Society (SPIE), the Optical Society of America (OSA), the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE), the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), the American Physical Society (APS) and the Guggenheim Foundation, and has received major awards including the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, International Commission for Optics Prize, Biophotonics Technology Innovator Award, Rahmi M. Koc Science Medal, International Photonics Society Early Career Achievement Award, Army Young Investigator Award, NSF CAREER Award, NIH Director’s New Innovator Award, Navy Young Investigator Award, IEEE Photonics Society Young Investigator Award and Distinguished Lecturer Award, National Geographic Emerging Explorer Award, National Academy of Engineering The Grainger Foundation Frontiers of Engineering Award and MIT’s TR35 Award for his seminal contributions to computational imaging, sensing and diagnostics.

Editor-in-Chief: Prof. Cheng-Wei Qiu

仇成伟Prof. Cheng-Wei Qiu received his B.Eng. (USTC) and Ph. D. (NUS) degree in 2003 and 2007, respectively. He was a Postdoctoral Fellow at Physics Department in MIT till the end of 2009. Since December 2009, he joined NUS as an Assistant Professor and was promoted to Associate Professor with tenure in Jan 2017. From 1st Jan 2018, he was promoted to Dean’s Chair Professor in Faculty of Engineering, NUS. He was the recipient of the SUMMA Graduate Fellowship in Advanced Electromagnetics in 2005, IEEE AP-S Graduate Research Award in 2006, URSI Young Scientist Award in 2008, NUS Young Investigator Award in 2011, MIT TR35@Singapore Award in 2012, Young Scientist Award by Singapore National Academy of Science in 2013, Faculty Young Research Award in NUS 2013, SPIE Rising Researcher Award 2018, Young Engineering Research Award 2018 in NUS, and Fellow of The Electromagnetics Academy in US 2020. His research is known for the structured light for beam manipulation and nanoparticle manipulation. He has published over 300 peer-reviewed journal papers. He was Highly Cited Researchers 2019 by Web of Science. He has been serving in Associate Editor for various journals such as PhotoniX, Photonics Research, and Editor-in-Chief for eLight. He also serves in Editorial Advisory Board for Laser and Photonics Review, Advanced Optical Materials, and ACS Photonics.